On-The-Go Bars

Nicer weather is coming! For me, mother of two, that means more outside time! Bike rides, runs, hikes, a lot of walking, and a lot of after school park time. I love being outside with my kids.

Being out often means I keep snacks and water in my bag at all times. Chances are SOMEONE is going to get hungry. You just never know. So I keep a ziplock bag of “healthy bars” as my son calls them, in my purse. I thought I’d share a few of my favorites with you.

20140228-092751.jpg

I’m pretty sure the majority of everyone has heard about Quest Bars so I won’t talk about them too much. They’re amazing and just about as clean eating as a protein bar gets. Plus 20g of protein! They have a huge variety of flavors too. If I had to recommend just one flavor it would be chocolate chunk (but then I would whisper “cookies and cream and cookie dough” cause honestly WHO can pick just 1??)

Now, I’ve not seen enough people eating OhYeah bars. These are probably some of the best tasting protein bars I’ve ever had. They have the VICTORY bars which have about 20g of protein. The peanut butter chip flavor tastes like a cookie! They have a trail mix bar which my 7 year old LOVES and it has 14g of protein which makes this mom happy! My favorite is the smaller peanut butter crunch. It has 13g of protein and is DELICIOUS. I eat it as a dessert because, well, look at it. It tastes better than a candy bar but has protein! My mouth waters just looking at it.

20140228-093829.jpg

Raw Rev bars are good and good for you! They’re made from mostly raw foods. Fruits and nuts. They come in some delicious flavors like Almond Butter Cup and Chocolate Coconut Bliss. They’re organic, gluten free, and non gmo! Plus they contain about 6g or 7g of protein. Yay for protein!

I’ve just been introduced to Square Bars and holy YUM. Not only are they sweet and delicious but they are also organic, gluten free, non gmo, soy free AND contain no refined sugar. Awesome right? I broke mine into pieces and ate it on top of my oatmeal and peanut butter. They come in 3 flavors and have around 11g of protein. YUM YUM YUM!

20140228-094941.jpg

Last but not least are Luna Bars which I’ve been buying the longest. Their nutrition bars and protein bars are delicious. My 7 year old loves them. I mean love, love, loves them. During summer he’d always ask me to bring him a luna bar on our walks. Probably cause they taste like a treat. Really, they do. They also have protein, fiber and vitamins though, so I’m cool with it.

It’s hard to choose a favorite protein bar. I’m kind of obsessed with protein bars in generally. I crave them all at different times. The OhYeah bars are what take care of my sweet tooth. Square Bars are what I like to add to my breakfast. Luna bars and Raw Rev bars are great on the go snacks. Quest is my clean cheat before bed. I look forward to it all day long too. Either way they’re all tasty and great for on-the-go snacks!
What are your favorite protein bars?

Stay healthy and active!

Leave a Reply

