Vegetable Soup

I started this week off sick, which is no fun. I figured it’s a good time to make my vegetable soup though, since I’ve been asked for the recipe a few times. I love love LOVE vegetable soup. I would add more veggies to mine but I have picky eaters. So feel free to add celery, tomatoes, onion, whatever veggies your heart desires!

20140520-112756-41276087.jpg
I start by pouring a jar of Ragu traditional spaghetti sauce in a pan. Fill the jar up 1 1/2 times with water and add that to the pan as well.
Add 2tbs of Italian seasoning, 1tsp onion powder, and some salt and pepper. I’d use actual onion but my son would complain.
Stir well and cook on medium heat while you get the veggies ready.

20140520-113013-41413742.jpg
Next I cut up half a bag of baby carrots, about 2cups once they’re chopped. I peel, wash and cut about 5 potatoes, depending on size. Mine were smaller, I think it ended up being 1 1/2lbs. I add 2cups of frozen peas and 1 1/2cups of frozen white corn, my sons favorite.

20140520-113237-41557326.jpg
Add all the veggies in, carefully so hot sauce isn’t splashing on you. Stir well. Turn heat down to low-medium and put a lid on it. Stir every half hour or so for a few hours. I turn the heat down to low after about two hours. I cook mine 3-4 hours because I like it thick.

20140520-142013-51613714.jpg
Hope you enjoy the recipe! My son loves dipping fresh baked bread into his soup!

Stay active and healthy!
-Jasmine

Leave a Reply

